A Trip To The Carnegie

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

IMG_5031

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

 

Recently my husband and I spent a night walking the halls of the Carnegie Museum of Art. When I studied art in college, both art history and studio art, I focused on and developed an appreciation for modern and post modern art. I really didn’t care much for the renaissance or romantic periods, feeling that while their major works had obvious skill they lacked imagination or innovation. So what if you could paint an apple so realistic that it made your mouth water? Where’s the creativity in that? But walking through the gallery halls with Tyson changed my perspective a bit. He was completely in awe over these incredibly realistic portraits and couldn’t get over how detailed and accurate they were. And the more he stood there and admired their craftsmanship the more I began to as well.

Thats one of my favorite things about marriage, you help each other to see things differently. Before being married I had certain things I liked and disliked, certain ways of doing things or thinking about things. And now there is this other person, who has a different way of seeing things and different likes and dislikes than me. For example, I have my husband to thank for my newfound appreciate for hot sauce, red meat, and coffee. And although I’m not generally a morning person I can’t help but enjoy the mornings when Tyson spontaneously starts singing a Madonna song.

Life is just more fun this way.

Standard

Leave a Reply

