The History of Love

NK4A0715

NK4A0726

NK4A0731

NK4A0734

On this frigid January day, all I want to do is surround myself with warmth. We closed our indoor shutters to our huge windows to keep the icy air out. Multiple cups of tea have been consumed. And I am now hauled up in our room, where its warmest, going through photos and trying to create a log of quotes that I love. I always seem to remember only a portion of something I’ve read or heard and then can never find it again. So I’d like to start writing them down or bookmarking them so that I have all those beautiful words kept in one place. I came across one of my favorites from a completely wonderful book that I’ve read over and over:

“Even now, all possible feelings do not yet exist, there are still those that lie beyond our capacity and our imagination. From time to time, when a piece of music no one has ever written or a painting no one has ever painted, or something else impossible to predict, fathom or yet describe takes place, a new feeling enters the world. And then, for the millionth time in the history of feeling, the heart surges and absorbs the impact.”  -Nicole Krauss, The History of Love

Hope you are staying warm in this polar vortex. What a lovely, dramatic term.

Standard

Leave a Reply

