Ice, Ice, Baby

NK4A0840

NK4A0845

NK4A0847

NK4A0867

NK4A0868

NK4A0871

NK4A0875

NK4A0877

NK4A0881

NK4A0885

NK4A0887

NK4A0890

Today I walked down to the point. Its called that because its where the three rivers in Pittsburgh come to, well, a point. I’ve noticed ice forming there and seagulls gathering in groups to keep warm on top of the ice. There were a handful of other people there; someone feeding the seagulls, and a photographer taking photos of a poor woman in shorts. Hearing the gulls made it feel oddly like summer. It felt good to walk across the frozen ground, hearing the ice break and crunch beneath my feet; the air was still and quiet as the snow was falling and everything felt peaceful and calm.

My husband is in India, where it is warm and colorful. I wish I could get in on that truthfully, but walking to the river today, feeling solitary and peaceful was so refreshing. I missed my husband and thought about him while I was walking around. There is something nice about that though, about being able to miss someone and think about them, not in a way that makes you feel lonely but in a way that reminds you of how loved you are and how much you love that person.

Standard

Leave a Reply

