Up And Down

NK4A1563

NK4A1556

NK4A1580We are slowly coming into spring and somehow I find myself more impatient about this seasonal change than ever. One slightly warm day and I’m hooked. And when it dips down below 20 in the mornings I’m devastated. Spring, please, please, stop playing with my emotions. I need open windows. I need flowers blooming. I need the SUN.

A few weeks ago one of my dear friends sent me a handmade card in the mail. Is there anything sweeter? Such a small and simple gesture made me feel so loved and cared for. She quoted Nelson Mandela on the front saying, “There is no passion to be found in settling for a life that is less than the one you are capable of living.” It made me think a lot about the kind of life I’d like to live and whether or not I’m actually pursuing that. And within the card she offered words of friendship and encouragement.

I am so grateful for those reminders in life to keep moving in a positive direction and keep pursuing what you know is good. And each day forward is such an accomplishment.

And so I’ll take this weather each day at a time. I check the forecast and its cold and snowy one day and warm and sunny another, but then I check the sunrise and sunset times…and the amount of daylight increases every day. Without fail. And it brings me so much hope. And I think its the same in life. Some things are up and down and theres no telling what will happen. But other things are predictable and concrete. Its in accepting both as true that allows you to have the right perspective.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

